Navarati 2021 - Manisha Fashionista

Navratri 2021- The Goddess Durga is worshiped throughout the nine-day Navratri celebration. Navratri, one of the most important Hindu festivals, is celebrated in various parts of the world under various names. It is extremely important to believers. In Sanskrit, the word ‘Navratri’ means ‘nine nights.’ The ‘Nine Forms of Maa Durga’ are worshipped for nine days.

Although Navratri occurs four times a year, only two of them, Chaitra Navratri (March-April) and Sharad Navratri (September-October), are popularly celebrated. The Shardiya Navratri, which takes place in the autumn, is one of the most anticipated. Shardiya Navrati will begin on October 7, 2021, and end on October 14, 2021, this year. On October 15, 2021, Vijayadashami will be observed. According to the Hindu calendar, Shardiya Navratri occurs in the auspicious month of Ashwin.

What is the significance of Navratri festival?

Why the festival is celebrated? The victory of good over evil is symbolized by Navratri or Maha Navratri. Goddess Durga fought demon king ‘Mahishasura’ for nine days and killed him, signaling the triumph of good over evil. Navratri also marks the start of India’s festival season, which includes Dussehra, Diwali, and Bhai Dooj.

Goddess Durga’s nine avatars.

On the occasion of Navratri, the nine forms of Goddess Durga, popularly known as Navdurga, are worshipped. Each day of Navratri is dedicated to a different version of Ma Durga. The first day is dedicated to Mata Shailputri, followed by Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri on the ninth day. Each form of Maa Durga is also associated with a specific color and has a unique meaning. Wearing these colors on the specific days of Navratri is considered auspicious. Here is the essence of each color of Ma Durga.

Day 1: Yellow

The Navratri festival begins with the worship of Mata Shailputri, the mountain-daughter form of Goddess Durga. The color yellow is associated with the day, and it is said to bring brightness, pleasure, and joy into our lives. Shailputri represents Mother Nature, and Jasmine is her preferred flower.

Day 2: Green

The second day of Navratri is dedicated to the worship of Goddess Brahmacharini. Green is the color of the day.  This color represents revival, nature, and energy. Wearing this color on the second day of Navrati promotes growth, peace, and new energy. In addition, offer Jasmine flowers to the deity.

Day 3: Grey

The third day is devoted to Mata Chandraghanta, the third form of Goddess Durga. The Devi wears a half-moon on her forehead and her favorite color is grey. Grey is dark color & often associated with negativity, but it also reflects zeal and determination to destroy evil.

Day 4 Orange

The fourth day is considered auspicious Khushmanda, who is said to have created the world with her divine smile. She is also known as the “smiling goddess.” That is why she is associated with the vibrant color orange. This color is associated with brightness, cheerfulness, and positive vibes.

Day 5: White

Skandamata is Goddess Durga’s fifth form, and she is seen holding Lord Kartikeya in her right arm. Worshiping this form of the Devi also allows you to worship Lord Kartikeya. If you want to receive more blessings from the deity, dress in white on this day, which represents pureness, calmness, and mindfulness.

Day 6: Red

Katyayani is the sixth form of Goddess Durga. As the warrior-goddess or Bhadrakali, she is the most powerful form of Goddess Durga. The color red represents one of the fiercest forms of the Goddess Durga. The color indicates the Goddess’s rage towards her enemies as well as her fierceness.

Day 7: Royal blue

Navdurga’s seventh avatar is Kalaratri. The word Kalaratri means “the Death of Kaal,” and it is referred to as death in this context. The dark blue color represents Devi’s immense power. This Goddess form is thought to be the destroyer of all demons, and she has a darker skin tone and a fearless posture. Its associated color, Royal Blue, symbolizes immense power.

Day 8: Pink

Goddess Mahagauri is honored on the eighth day. This form of Goddess Durga can grant all of her devotees’ wishes. Whoever worships this form of the Devi receives relief from all life’s sufferings. This day is associated with the color pink, which symbolizes hope, self-improvement, and social upliftment.

Day 9: Purple

The final day of Navratri is dedicated to the devotion of Goddess Siddhidatri. It is made up of two words: ‘Siddhi,’ which means a supernatural entity, and ‘Dhatri,’ which means the one who bestows it. This form of the Devi imparts knowledge and assists you in achieving your goals. As a result, the color purple, which symbolizes ambition and power, is associated with the day.

Navratri is observed differently in different parts of India. Many people use this time for religious reflection and fasting, while others use it for dancing and feasting. Observing a strict vegetarian diet and abstaining from alcohol and certain spices are among the fasting customs. Wearing different colors outfits according to day significance and playing garbha with their groups. I hope I shared all the importance of all days and give outfit goals through pictures according to day and color. So enjoy this Navaratri 2021, and happy Navaratri to my lovely readers & have a blast in dandiya night with all safety and precautions. Keep coming for a new Blog post. Don’t forget to comment down and share pics on Instagram @manisha_fashionista and tag me and check my youtube channel Manisha Fashionista

Happy Reading, Reading Lovers ❤️

Lots of love ❤️ Manisha